HERE I GO…DAY 1…..

Standard

So, I found this awesome little place called Max Life Fitness and decided to partake in the 40-day challenge.  Okay, truth be told, a happy little Living Social deal landed in my lap so I can’t take credit for this gem, BUT…….I joined nonetheless, so whatever it takes to get my big ass started working out again, right!?!?  Day 1 = today.  Now, please understand there are several comments to be made before sharing my experience.

#1.)  My class is at 6am.  WTF was I thinking??  For those who know me well, I am not, nor have I ever been a morning person, but my dear friend Trina convinced me that “get in and get it done” is a great way to hit your day.  I’m not convinced yet.  Stay tuned on that.

#2.)  I have been lazy for longer than I can remember so weak muscles are an understatement.

#3.)  I don’t like pain.  Just sayin.

Okay, it’s 5am and snowing buckets on my first day and all I can think of is “how the heck do I work my coffee maker again????”  Forget it.  Out into the blizzard I go with water bottle in hand hoping I don’t get into a wreck given the fact that I’ve left my 2 children home alone to fend for themselves getting ready for school, breakfast, feed dog, etc. but that will be a whole other post at some point.  If I talk about it right now, the guilt might send me to the bottle.  I arrive with 5 minutes to spare and HOLY HELL are these people chipper!!  I suppose they get paid to be that, right?  And today is only fitness testing, photos and registration stuff!  But after agonizingly embarrassing strip down to sports bra and shorts photos, weigh in and measuring humiliation, we are on the mats ready to warm up.  Warm up???   Wait……..we aren’t supposed to sweat today – I didn’t even put my tennis shoes back on after weigh in.  Before I know it, I am full on jumping jacking it like a crazy person with all sorts of other aerobic jumping business going on.  8 minutes later and I’m burping coffee with slight acid reflux mixed in wondering how I’m going to get through this much less 4 weeks of ass whooping workouts 6 days a week!!   I’m just plain sloppy and we haven’t even done testing yet.  Shit.   Now it’s bad enough we are each carrying around our little piece of paper with all the naughty little numbers on it like age, weight, waist and hip measurements, etc. but now we get to add the list of 5 fitness tests and our performance for each within 60 seconds.  Push ups, pull ups, sit ups, burpees (this to be explained later), and squats.  Shit Shit.  Suffice it to say, I am 3 out of 5 times reminded how out of shape I am.   Here are my results……..bright side is AIN’T NOWHERE TO GO BUT UP FROM HERE!!

Squats = 29….apparently my thighs are what carry my big ass around all day

Push ups = 11….even girl style pushups bite.

Pull ups = 0….oh you heard me!  ZERO as in not even 1.  Again, nowhere but up, baby!!

Burpees = 9….these are the devil and that’s all I have to say about them right now.

Sit ups = 4….And this was a huge fight to get 4 people!  By the way, I do try super hard tho; so hard I usually pee a little so that has to count for something.

We are dismissed once our assessment portion is done.  45 minutes spent at the gym with about 12 minutes of total working out and I can’t feel my thighs.   I got in the car and laughed hysterically with my pathetic self trying to envision the 4 week transformation in my brain but it is only 6:45am, so I switch mental gears and remember tomorrow is kickboxing!!  Ouch and Yay!  Somewhere along the way I will talk about food but today is NOT that day as I’m nursing my ouchies with many mocha’s right now which I’m sure is not good muscle fuel but just knowing that is a start, right???  Har Har Har.  🙂  Looks like I’ve got to spend some more time on Pinterest finding healthy recipes that will peak my interest past the Valentine’s cupcakes, cookies, candy and and and……..So thanks for stopping by and supporting my life change beginning.  Come on board and join the fun!!  What’s your pee pee sit up issue when working out???  READY, SET………BREAK!  *Hugs*  Mo

About MoJo

A woman on a mission......a mission to find her way back to feeling, living and being healthy. As a single parent, she is busy, but that's a lame excuse for not getting her butt to the gym and making better grocery store choices. She says "CAN DO" to everyone but herself no more! So, it's time to put down the cookies and put on the tennis shoes......I am this woman so here I go!

2 responses »

Tell Me What's On Your Mind

