Delirious and Still Kickboxing……..Day 16

Standard

Less than 5 hours of sleep on an ordinary day makes me downright stupid, but on kickboxing day, the bag kicks back.  I was sloppy just walking from the car!  I suppose a half-ass workout is better than none at all, right!?! I can honestly report I gave about 35% today, sad but true.  And of course, now feel compelled to get at least another 30 minutes somewhere to balance out my early morning lameness.

I am happy to report that my state of delirium is due to one of those top things that can’t be helped……a friend in need.  It’s not like I sat up watching Cake Boss reruns while jamming through a big bag of M&M’s because you can just smell the cake through the TV!  Who does that at midnight??  Ahem, anyway, yes, there are a handful of things that rank on the “cannot be helped” list.  I’m learning to not stress about them, take them as a serious sabotage or let them set me back.  At the end of the day, every day, I still have to take care of me while taking care and being present for the “cannot be helped.”  Sometimes a general review of those things help keep it real because there are days when I could easily add just about anything to that list and try to get away with it.  Let’s review……

Can NOT be helped, Period: (Not going to the gym today)

-Puke – mine

-Fire, Flood, Blood, Major Fever.  Duh

– Tornadoes.  Such a bummer when the gym isn’t where is was yesterday.

-Severe Injury

– Death – mine

Can NOT be helped, at the moment: (Just postpone gym time)

-Some Mother Nature events can complicate or delay things but can still be worked around.

– Death- everyone else.  (Kidding, but maybe not really)

-Puke-anyone else in the house.

-A friend in need.

-Dead car battery, flat tire.

CAN be helped, so don’t be stupid:  (Get your ass to the gym now!)

-My bed is so warm

– I sneezed

– The cat coughed up a hairball

– Absolutely everything else my brain will attempt to conjure up………

I would love to hear everyone’s lame excuses they have used in the past to skip a workout!  Share them with me so I can’t use them either!

By the way, although I vowed to not get on the scale until after the 40 day challenge, I peeked.  Down 3 pounds and although that is technically probably water weight, I will take it nonetheless.  I think stronger, feel stronger and am crushing my way to healthy every day.  Accepting defeat is just no longer an option and I’m here to tell anyone reading this that has self doubts……if I can do this, so can you because I AM doing it!  Trust me, I battle the demons of lazy, self-deprecating crappy voices with every breath and it is hard, but just start.  Somewhere.  Anywhere.  Get up and move while you still can!  *hugs* M

About MoJo

A woman on a mission......a mission to find her way back to feeling, living and being healthy. As a single parent, she is busy, but that's a lame excuse for not getting her butt to the gym and making better grocery store choices. She says "CAN DO" to everyone but herself no more! So, it's time to put down the cookies and put on the tennis shoes......I am this woman so here I go!

One response »

Tell Me What's On Your Mind

