I Love Me Some Veggies!

Standard

Funny thing about fitness…….I think the body knows when it’s time to change gears and fuel up differently.  All of a sudden, without any real forethought, my brain is much more interested in healthier foods.  Not like I would completely kick the fresh baked cookies out of my kitchen, but I’m not in there scrounging around for something sweet that leads me down a stupid path of regret these days.

Made delicious burritos for the kiddos per their request, but the heaviness of that just didn’t sound appealing, so I opted for a quick whip up of stir fry veggies MoJo style.

Super quick and easy…….any veggies will do of course but here are my picks:

Fresh mushrooms, yellow squash, broccoli and sun dried tomatoes all sliced nice and thick so they don’t get weird and squishy.  Toss in a frying pan with a bit of extra virgin olive oil, Janies Mix It Up Salt (my fave), Emeril’s Essence and a few sprinkles of Mrs. Dash.  I usually like my veggies a little firmer than the average bear, so I don’t really saute them too long, maybe 5-8 minutes.  Add just enough chicken broth to coat the bottom of the pan and then simmer for another 2-3  minutes just so the broth flavors your veggies nicely and then throw in a giant handful of fresh baby spinach leaves.  Cover just until the spinach is to your desired consistency and voila!  Drain off the juices and serve piping hot and Yummmo – doesn’t that smell so tasty!?!

Sorry I’m not really super technical on creating recipes with exact measurements or proper cooking protocol because I tend to fly by the seat of my pants in the kitchen.  Sometimes it ends up not so good, but saute some veggies really quickly with a bit of chicken broth this weekend and see how it goes!!  Play around with spices too.  I would love to hear about your veggies blends to give me more ideas!!  My next mixture is going to involve Soba noodles and possibly a bit of fruit flavored oil – ooooo, delish!!

P.S.  And sorry again, no pic….I ate it too quick and forgot!  Will remember my manners next time!!  Have fun in your kitchen!!

About MoJo

A woman on a mission......a mission to find her way back to feeling, living and being healthy. As a single parent, she is busy, but that's a lame excuse for not getting her butt to the gym and making better grocery store choices. She says "CAN DO" to everyone but herself no more! So, it's time to put down the cookies and put on the tennis shoes......I am this woman so here I go!

Tell Me What's On Your Mind

