Insecurities « (RePost from The Running Thriver)…..Day 26

Standard

Insecurities « The Running Thriver.

Today I have been inspired by my amazing new Blog Acquaintance, RunningThriver. Her story is inspirational and she is obviously a bad ass athlete now!!  I follow her blogs and encourage you all to as well. Plus, I love her skateboarding puppy dog.

Her blog could not have landed in my lap at a more apropos time.  The “movement,” my journey of change for the healthier future I seek, is riddled with potholes and forks along the path, all representing their individual challenges and diversions.  It has been 26 days since I began, and I fight every day to get up and just GO workout.  There is so much to be said for the psychological warfare I’ve spoken about in past blogs because it is not only related to the nasty habits I need to break, but also all of those little voices of excuses that are the direct root of something bigger……….self image/self-confidence.  For me personally, I can talk openly about my physical flaws with humor.  It doesn’t appear then that I lack confidence when the real truth is, I only share the depth of my internal negativity with the mirror.  Denial about any of it one way or the other is worse.  Seeing the flaws, damage from neglect of self would at least be acknowledgement.  When I opened my eyes really wide for the first time, I wasn’t sure where the stranger reflecting back at me came from.  Welcome to my planet.

I am not one that seeks a tremendous amount of external approval or praise and yet, I have completely sucked giving it to myself.  Of course my children think I am beautiful no matter what, but do I?  I mean, do I REALLY?  It’s an important question to ask daily, even hourly if necessary until you are your own cheerleader, right?!  Falling in love with myself right now is what keeps me from dating!   Through the years of stress, birthing 2 kids, marriage, divorce, and the insurmountable pain of losing both parents, I have gained extra pounds but also wisdom.  Feeding the amazing, but neglected little girl who lives in my soul with tenderness, recognition and genuine love is my daily gift to myself and THAT, my friends is beautiful.  For every one negative peck I can make at myself over something stupid like a stretch mark or wrinkle, I vow to embrace 3 positive things that make me unique, beautiful and exceptionally me.  I love that RunningThriver speaks to being a “stronger version of herself” and that is now my daily mantra. Ok, now your turn……….

About MoJo

A woman on a mission......a mission to find her way back to feeling, living and being healthy. As a single parent, she is busy, but that's a lame excuse for not getting her butt to the gym and making better grocery store choices. She says "CAN DO" to everyone but herself no more! So, it's time to put down the cookies and put on the tennis shoes......I am this woman so here I go!

One response »

Tell Me What's On Your Mind

