Catching UP….. Days 30-33

Standard

Yes, it has been one of THOSE kind of weeks.  But every day in the mid 70’s with sunshine until 7:30pm?!?!  Who’s complaining!!  Honestly, I do this overloading thing to myself so there really isn’t room for complaining.  A little light whining and rebelling possibly, but never complaining.  Most of the self-inflicted added stress fills me with happiness also because it typically involves helping others.  The addition of extra kids on the mom shuttle or in the house really isn’t stress at all, but rather a volume level I have to adjust to.  I’m discovering more and more each day how mandatory a little quiet is for me.  Damn, it’s for sure now that I’m destined to be one of those crotchety old women shooshing everyone.

Missed challenge day on Wednesday due to additional carpooling.  I threatened to go to an evening class, but didn’t even get my children fed until 8pm!!  This is why I signed up for 6am class in the first place.  Once I’m home, it’s done.  I’m still way too new at this fitness business to feel compelled to head back out after dark or anywhere near dinner.  Duh.  Now, entice me with beers and I’m game!  Actually, my BF and I need to rally back to the old days of power walking up a sweat all over my neighborhood only to land on the patio at the corner pub (formerly AK O’Conner’s Beaverdale) for naughty appetizers and a pitcher of beer.  Yah, I know, but shut up – it’s totally fun!!

I did get in a little Zumba lovings last night and can’t wait to get to an actual class!  I do love it in the privacy of my own home so I can be half-naked and not too aware of all the jiggles, but it is just too fun to do alone!  Besides, I really want some space to Samba!!  Part of the sticking with it is in the preparation.  Now, I absolutely love the YMCA.  We are probably members for life, however, they are not so good at scheduling things for the kids at the same time as grown up classes.  Kids stuff is either before or after.  Yes, the 13 year old can roam and do whatever she wants, but the 6-year-old has to be supervised and is getting too old for the kids watch babysitting area.  Grrrrrr.  But, I’m going to make this work! 

Along with figuring out fun fitness things for the kids while I have grown up fitness, I’m making myself think about the pool.  For them.  For me.  And to just plain get over myself.  It’s just stupid, but truth be told, no one wants to see all of me in a swimsuit yet.  Well at least I don’t so I assume everyone else’s eyeballs will melt from their heads upon viewing the pudge.  I know.  Hey self…. shut it!!  I have to so the kids and I have fun fitness together also.  They kind of frown on tossing your kids in the open swim session and leaving.  Yes, the bikes and basketballs are getting tuned up and ready for the season, but soon the public pools will be filling also.  Might as well get over it now!!! I grew up a with every swimming certification possible by the time I was 12.  It’s time to be a fish again!!

Next step = the beach!!!

Tomorrow is my holiday!  The Irish blood that runs through my veins is screaming for Royal Mile’s Reuben rolls and delicious beer.  BUT, I’m hitting the 7:45 class first to start my day and celebrating St. Patty’s during the day this year. Parade festivities and wonderful friends in the almost 80 degree weather sounds just about perfect.  2 reasons – the remodel on my bedroom begins tonight, so I’m going to want that thing done ASAP and second is really most important……I’ve worked really hard to stay focused and cut out things are aren’t so good for me, so that is a path I must stay committed to.  Sorry my favorite peeps in all the world – no limo drinking out all night for Mo Mo on St. Pat’s this year!!  *hugs*  M

EMBRACE PERMISSION TO FOCUS ON SELF.

 

 

About MoJo

A woman on a mission......a mission to find her way back to feeling, living and being healthy. As a single parent, she is busy, but that's a lame excuse for not getting her butt to the gym and making better grocery store choices. She says "CAN DO" to everyone but herself no more! So, it's time to put down the cookies and put on the tennis shoes......I am this woman so here I go!

2 responses »

Tell Me What's On Your Mind

