Starting With A Purpose.

Standard

Me gots on the helmet and I’m ready to take ya……Bring It On!

At the beginning of this journey, I simply wanted to send my daily struggles and accomplishments to the masses in hopes of having reinforcements to hold myself accountable to my 6am fitness class goal.  Simply said……I didn’t think I would stick with it.  Any of it.  But failure just isn’t an option at my age now.   For those who know me well, I am a very real, raw type of writer.  If I would say it out loud, count on it being written!  It comes from the heart and I dare not be purposefully insulting or degrading in any way, but I do cuss and call it like it is.  Most people tell me they are so grateful that SOMEONE is saying out loud what they are thinking!  Yup, that’s typically me.  So if I have dubbed you one of the fitness class “bitches,” it means you’re my favorites!

When you start a fitness plan, it’s hard and muscles just plain hurt.  It affects your life every moment of every day!  Remembering how the office chair was my only friend reminds me that the hard work does affect your life a little bit!  And that was less than 2 months ago!  Ah, how quickly we block out the ugly!  But I have not blocked out the hard.  There is a mysterious crappy willpower that lives inside of my head and as a continued work in progress, I have to fight with this nasty little sucker daily.  I have learned many things in such a short amount of time, things about fitness, food and mostly things about myself.  I have fallen in love with Zumba.   I have flipped the beast and survived!  I opened the door to face the psychological warfare of habit breaking and accept that this is still a work in progress.  I am okay with facing my fears, learning new tricks, and being a toddler again on this pathway to loving and accepting ME, inside and out.  Yes, for now, this really is still a selfish journey, but I know there will be inspiration, for me and from me!  I’m getting it every day from all of you, my new fitness Bitches and every day people encouraging my journey.  Even before week one was complete, friends were returning to the gym because of my efforts!   The new-found connections of fellow bloggers……oh there are no words!  Instant friendships, kindred sisters, limitless layers of inspiration, encouragement and bravery all from complete strangers who I now adore.  This treasured little gem of network people out there in the trenches busting their hineys, sharing the trials and tribs of their own journey, are my lifeboat.  My most special fitness sister, RunningThriver,  has recently nominated me for the Very Inspiring Blogger and Sunshine Awards.  Holy thank you, girl!!  She speaks candidly about her passion for running, life and fitness.  My favorite thing is her continued aspiration to be the strongest and healthiest version of herself – and not take people’s crap !  You GO Girl!

So, the rules for these awards are all pretty much the same:

1) Thank the person who nominated you and link back to their blog (check)

2) List some random things about yourself that other people may find interesting

3) Nominate some worthy blogs and let them know

Boy am I full of randomness so here goes…..

I love tomato bisque soup & french onion soup, but hate raw tomatoes and anything else with onions.  Yum and Bleck!

I am a Cancer moon baby.  Born directly on the cusp!

I changed schools every year of my life until 7th grade. 

In our house, freckles come from angels sneaking down from heaven to kiss your skin while you sleep and their little kiss leaves the freckle.  AND we fully believe in fairies, providing garden housing and leaving snacks for their well-being often.  🙂

I’m embarrassed to admit this but I am a complete infant to the blogging world.  I’m just scratching the surface learning the how to’s and finding my favorite bloggers to follow.  I am interested in too many things to stay focused a lot of the times!!  But here is a list of my current faves and my award nominations.  Ask me again in 3 months and I know this list will have grown.

For the Sunshine Award:

While Chasing Kids  – my lovely little Russian friend shares the most amazing recipes, currently all vegetarian and shares her stories of being a stay-at-home mom in San Fran, CA.  I miss you, sunshine kitty!

Very Inspiring Award:

Perfectly Imperfect – I love to re-purpose things, especially vintage things.  I learn new things every day and I really enjoy her Pinterest too!

Daisy’s World – I completely drool and slobber on my keyboard daily at her recipes!  Holy Numminess!!

The Versatile Blogger:

Run. Dog. Cat. Me. – Has been making me laugh for over a year.  I began following her because her cat is named Chunk and fell in love with her over everything!

The Everything Yoga Blog – I love the Yoga Mints!!  And because I am totally infantile in my understanding of how to be in the present moment, I truly enjoy the teachings and writings.

For the Kreativ Blogger Award:

Scary Mommy – Holy cow, she is hilarious, raw and tells it very much like it is and then some when it comes to parenting and more!

Fit Bottomed Girls – There is just A LOT of information on this site.  Never a dull moment and so much to digest, but all very worthy material!!

As this path becomes clearer and the war stories shared, I can say with great confidence that blogging has begun to change my life as much as embracing the healthy journey.  As I heal and grow, laugh and cry, the negative layers all peel away and when I can see my true bloom begin to emerge again, we will blog about dating.  Until then…..*hugs* and massive love~! M

About MoJo

A woman on a mission......a mission to find her way back to feeling, living and being healthy. As a single parent, she is busy, but that's a lame excuse for not getting her butt to the gym and making better grocery store choices. She says "CAN DO" to everyone but herself no more! So, it's time to put down the cookies and put on the tennis shoes......I am this woman so here I go!

2 responses »

  1. Thanks so much for nominating me! I’m so honored! Weird, out of 5 people I know in Iowa… 2 believe in fairies… The other 3 probably haven’t come out of the closet yet… Thanks so much for the kind words about my blog it’s a whole 3 months more mature than yours, so I guess at least it deserves a Surviver Award! I love reading your posts!

Tell Me What's On Your Mind

