The WHOLE Movement.

Standard

Take care of your body.  It’s the only place you have to live!   Jim Rohn

Beautiful !


Now just because this photo is all women, I’m not discounting the guys!  This mostly applies to you as well, but when I start talking about health related girl junk, just replace the verbiage as dude junk!    The saying “We all come in different shapes and sizes” is true beyond what is skin deep.  Peel back the layers of skin and there lies our own individual internal gears.  I began to re-evaluate my MOVEMENT about 2 weeks ago wondering what kind of role model I was being for my kids.  I mean REAL role model.  Sure I’m exercising, eating better and talking the fitness talk about healthier mommy….blah, blah, blah.  Hey, I’m even remodeling my bedroom for spiritual bliss, but it is not going to matter how toned my muscles are if I’m blindsided with breast cancer, diabetes, glaucoma, etc.  Sound extreme??

1 in 8 women will develop invasive breast cancer over the course of her lifetime.  In 2011, an estimated 230,480 new cases of invasive breast cancer were expected to be diagnosed in women in the U.S., along with 57,650 new cases of non-invasive (in situ) breast cancer.  About 2,140 new cases of invasive breast cancer were expected to be diagnosed in men in 2011. A man’s lifetime risk of breast cancer is about 1 in 1,000.

Oh yes, Mr. Dudes…….this total includes you so although I realize it may seem completely lame to schedule a mammogram, but at least talk to your physician about it.

In making the commitment to get healthier through this MOVEMENT, I had to get real about it and get some long overdue appointments made.   First up, the eye doctor.  I’ve required eye correction since 3rd grade, so this is nothing new, but it’s been 3 years since I’ve been back.  Bad Kitty!!  Of course, being over 40, there was talk of the “B” lens (those bi-focal thingies), but I’m not ready to crack on that yet!  I don’t care if they are invisible line – I will know!!  Anyway, prescription changed in both eyes so new lens were needed, but I already knew that since driving at night was getting scary.

Second was the dentist.  I was holding my breath the whole way there because I KNEW this was going to be ugly.  It had been 4 years with the exception of the emergency visit last year to pull a unrepairable cracked molar.  My lovely mother had a BMW mouth full of teeth.  I always thought she was a lunatic to have to take out a loan for that expensive upkeep of hers!  Now I understand and oh by the way, thanks for the awesome genes, ma!  So, my check up results = 4 cavities, 1 (possibly 2) root canals and a small bit of restorative molar work.  The 2 main culprits besides crappy genes?  SODA and WINT-O-GREEN MINTS.  Sugar.  Sugar.  Sugar.   Oh sure, I brush me teeth and floss (sometimes) but when you have sugar sitting on your teeth throughout the day, huh…..who knew??   I have an appointment next week to discuss “the plan.”  Yeah, it’s that detailed.

Third, a mammogram.  This was the super scary one because although the test is quick and fairly painless, the unknown is a bitch.  My clinic has a fancy new machine that apparently can take pictures all the way through the tissue, so end result is state of the art goodness!!  I have never had a mammogram.  I’m 44 years old and have never really had a reason to, except that I am over 40, have boobs and it’s recommended.  Insurance pays for this annually people!!!  Why aren’t we just doing it??  The results of mine showed a gray haze on my left booby and because I’ve never had a mammogram before to compare this to, I have to go back in 3 months to check it again.  Could be nothing.  Could be something.  The tech is leaning toward nothing, so I am too, because frankly, I don’t have a choice.  This is nothing a self-exam will help monitor and worrying/wondering until the next test will make me insane.  So please, take it from me…….go to the phone now and schedule your mammogram today!  Having a baseline is imperative to monitor your breast health!!  And early detection can save your life.

Lastly, a regular annual check up including my lady junk is in the works.  As women, we are typically required to have one of these fun things when we have to renew birth control.   After my surgery (to be explained later) in 2006, I have not required birth control, so let’s just say it has been a ridiculously long time since my last check up.  Stupid.

I get my hair done religiously every 8-9 weeks.  It’s a 3-4 hours process, sometimes even including wine and snacks.  Appointments are booked sometimes a year in advance to ensure my time slots are secure and I never, ever, EVER cancel.  The investment of time and money made in this arena is never missed because it is not negotiable.  Beside the fact that it’s girl’s day out, it’s one of my favorite things about myself.  Yes, I said hair.  I can assure you, I will probably not change this about myself as I don’t want to, but I am now challenging myself to give all of my human parts equal priority.   I will forever have 4 different colors flowing in my crazy hair and the wrinkles will increase over the years, but I will also have healthy teeth, continued toning muscles, properly supplemented blood and organs and cancer free boobs!

Please join the MOVEMENT my lovely people……yes, you dudes too!  Create your own boot camp and make your whole health and way of life a priority.  Take a moment and write down the last time you remember attending check ups.  All of them!  Spring is all around us right now, so breathe in the beauty for the inspiration you need to make a fresh start.  YOU ARE ALL WORTH IT!  *hugs* M


About MoJo

A woman on a mission......a mission to find her way back to feeling, living and being healthy. As a single parent, she is busy, but that's a lame excuse for not getting her butt to the gym and making better grocery store choices. She says "CAN DO" to everyone but herself no more! So, it's time to put down the cookies and put on the tennis shoes......I am this woman so here I go!

Tell Me What's On Your Mind

