Still on the Fence About Running.

Standard

Although I haven’t gotten back into the swing with a new Boot Camp or actual “gym” time, I have been giving running a try………well, walk/running!  Hey, my ass is up and doing SOMETHING, so don’t laugh.  The weather has been my friend, for the most part at 6am.  Being out in the crisp air watching the neighborhood wake and bustle is helping me to begin appreciating early morning, a little.  I smile at all the little retired folks praddling about in their yards ALREADY, thinking they must have already polished off 2-3 cups of coffee, the daily paper, breakfast and a dog walk.  There’s humble motivation RIGHT THERE!  Geez, if the 75 year old has accomplished half a day’s worth of piddling before I’m even up, surely I can break a good sweat within the first hour of the day!!  GOD!

I realize that running is an acquired taste – I guess you either love it or hate it according to everyone I’ve talked to.  I’m still on the fence, so I’m hoping that’s a good sign.  So far I haven’t pushed past the walk/run yet, so I’m giving myself time to warm up to it, AND not get injured.  My bones and all the jiggly junk I’m still draggin around isn’t too fond of it so far, but I’m not giving into that nonsense.  I know the difference between, “ouch that concrete is kinda jarring  my person” and “Oh crap, I just pulled/broke something,” so these old bones will just have to keep up!  The current pace of run 3mins/brisk walk 1min is not bad and so far, the only thing I have to baby and put on ice is my neck.  Outside of my lungs, this is the trouble spot for me.  Yet, one more reason to get every muscle stronger!!

Today’s run was brief due to the lovely weather coming in a little too strong, but got a solid 35 minutes in of 3 min runs/1min walk.  If the stormy weather continues I may have to take it to the treadmill, which will make me uber cranky, but better than nothing at all.   Treadmills and spin class is NOT for me – gerbil on the wheel feeling, but I really want to run a 5K this year, preferably several!!!

So, with hitting the pavement in mind, I purchased a couple pairs of compression pants.  LOVE, LOVE, LOVE them, however I will say, it is NOT pretty when the awesome material that is there to hold in your belly flop creeps down as you (meaning me of course) run and then, well……..can you spell waddle?  Yet another reason to keep up the sweat and put in more sit up time.  BELLY BULGE PISSES ME OFF!  It just does.  But, 2 kids later (One being C-section), bad diet, sloppy exercise over the years and too much Easter candy are all to blame, not me.  That has been my internal language all along and look where it’s gotten me, so I might complain about my waddle, but I’m still going to battle it every day.  There will be cardio.  There will be weight training.  There will be boot camp.  And when I’m craving a peanut butter/banana/Nutella sandwich on white break, I will only eat the banana because that’s what Steph would do!   When the alarm goes off at 5:45 am and my tired butt doesn’t wanna get out of the bed, I will because Trina says half the battle is just getting up.  And when my muscles are so thrashed from weight training that I can’t carry the laundry basket, I will make my children do it because that will be my only day of rest!!  HA!

Battling the bad habits is every moment of every day.  Trust me, I know.  I’m working on being my own best friend.  Instead of continuing to feel guilty about taking time away from my children to get healthier, I keep telling myself it is my job to take care of “my children’s mother” because no one else will.  Perspective is everything!!   Making time to read a good book, making new projects for my art, laughing with my children and staying connected to friends and family is the very best combination for the determination and motivation I struggle to provide to myself.  So, when you feel yourself slipping back in your mind and hear the excuses coming out of your mouth, just stop.  Look around and find the joy that fills your soul, no matter how big or small, and use it to get back on track.  When its stormy and raining for days on end and everyone around you is making you cranky, search for the rainbow to peek and find a puddle to splash in!  Dare to be different the crabby mass!  And when the sun returns with a smile, you will know it has risen just for you!!  *Hugs*  M

 

About MoJo

A woman on a mission......a mission to find her way back to feeling, living and being healthy. As a single parent, she is busy, but that's a lame excuse for not getting her butt to the gym and making better grocery store choices. She says "CAN DO" to everyone but herself no more! So, it's time to put down the cookies and put on the tennis shoes......I am this woman so here I go!

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: Dog Equine Canine and Equine Supplement Products » Pet Bounce

  2. ❤ Oh, Monica! (((((hugs))) I'd actually have some NNW whey protein (vanilla caramel swirl flavor) shaken in unsweetened almond milk with that banana! 🙂 You warm my soul! XOXOXO

Tell Me What's On Your Mind

